FCBA Congratulates This Year’s Scullin Scholars

Published: February 2, 2021

In 2005, the FCBA established the Honorable Frederick J. Scullin, Jr. Scholarship Program to recognize exemplary law students who attend the three law schools within the NDNY. This year’s awardees are:

Ryan Hayes – Albany Law School

Mr. Hayes was awarded a SUNY Legal Fellowship and the Catalyst Public Service Fellowship. He has interned at Legal Assistance of Western New York in Geneva, New York. Prior to law school Mr. Hayes was a police officer with the Special Operations Section for the United States Secret Service, serving as a lead officer for events at the White House Complex. He also travelled extensively throughout the world with the President. Mr. Hayes has a strong commitment to continuing his career in the Northern District of New York.

Julia E. Mikolajczak – Cornell Law School

A native of the Greater Buffalo area, Ms. Mikolajczak is a graduate of the University of Maryland (summa cum laude) with a major in Criminal Justice. She is President of the Women’s Law Coalition, an Academic Peer Advisor for the Student Academic Support Program, a Quarterfinalist in the Langfan Moot Court, and active in both Mock Trial and Moot Court Programs. Ms. Mikolajczak was a summer law clerk at the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Western District of New York. Her current interest is Immigration Law and Advocacy.

Leita Powers – Syracuse University College of Law

Ms. Powers is an Editorial Member of the Syracuse Law Review, Secretary of the Women’s Law Society, and an Investigator for the Syrian Accountability Project. Ms. Powers received her B.S. in Biology, with a minor in Women’s Studies, summa cum laude from Elmira College. She has worked for Legal Assistance of Western New York as a legal intern in the Equal Justice Works for Crime Victims unit. Prior to law school, Leita worked as a lead Domestic Violence Advocate for the Advocacy Center of Tompkins County. She has also volunteered as a Big Brother Big Sister Volunteer with the Ithaca Youth Bureau, a Hotline Volunteer & New York State Rape Crisis Counselor, and served as Board President for the Suicide Prevention and Crisis Services.