FCBA Holds 19th Annual Dinner

Published: December 14, 2022

More than 120 people attended the Federal Court Bar Association’s 19th annual dinner, held at the Crowne Plaza Desmond Hotel in Albany, on December 8, 2022.

Attendees heard remarks from Chief United States District Judge Brenda K. Sannes and FCBA President Adam Katz.

Chief Judge Sannes announced a new award – The Hon. George H. Lowe Award, to be given to an attorney who demonstrates excellence and commitment in taking on pro bono civil litigation assignments from the Court.  The first awardee was, fittingly, Judge Lowe himself, who has taken on many pro bono assignments and in doing so often partners with young attorneys conducting their first trials.

udge Mae A. D’Agostino

Tracy Kaback Photography

United States District Judge Mae A. D’Agostino received the Judge Duane Award, in recognition of her public service and dedication to the rule of law. In presenting the award, Senior United States District Judge Frederick J. Scullin, Jr. noted Judge D’Agostino’s commitment to civic engagement, best exemplified by historical reenactments of famous trials she has organized at the federal courthouses in Albany and Syracuse.

Robin Michael

Tracy Kaback Photography

Robin Michael, a supervisor in the Clerk’s Office in Syracuse, received the Baerman Award, in recognition of her dedication to the administration of justice in the Northern District of New York. The award was a complete surprise to Robin, who did not initially realize that her family was in attendance to watch her receive the award.

The event also honored this year’s Scullin Scholars, scholarship awardees selected from the district’s three law schools: Justin Quinn Davis (Albany Law School), Isaac Belenkiy (Cornell Law School), and Jacqueline E. Zahn (Syracuse University College of Law).

The FCBA also continued its tradition of presenting a monetary gift to the U.S. Military Family Morale, Welfare and Recreation Fund. The FCBA was honored to be joined by Lieutenant Colonel Jessica Farrell, Major Trent Kubasiak, Major Jason Harrup, and Captain Amber Small, who are stationed at Fort Drum and accepted the gift from Doreen Simmons, FCBA Co-Founder and Past President.

The annual dinner was preceded by a CLE on the 14th Amendment, taught by Christopher Riano, and the FCBA’s annual meeting, where members voted to extend officers’ terms by one year, so that they end in December 2023. Members also voted to accept Zachary Oren as the new Vice President for the Capital Region, and voted in two new trustees, Paul Evangelista and Benjamin Hill.

Please be on the lookout for an email with a link to all of photos from this great evening!

And special thanks to our sponsors – Porter Law Group, Hancock Estabrook LLP, Lippes Mathias LLP, and Coughlin & Gerhart LLP.